Jamie Oliver’s 15 Minute Beef Kofta Curry with Fluffy Rice, Beans and Peas

jamies kofta curry

So usually I’ll come in, post work and school run and within seconds of my tired little toe (actually it’s quite a big toe, but don’t tell anyone) crossing the threshold of the front door, my three ravenous little pelicans are scrabbling at the fridge. I might sit down for a glorious split second and relax, engulfed in the serene ambiance of the pelicans chirping in the distance…. No, hold on a minute… pelicans don’t chirp…they ‘clack’… and they’re clacking at me!! The clacking’s getting louder, I’m struggling to ignore it, the pelicans are moving in on me aaaand BANG!! There goes my little 60 second bubble of desired relaxation.

Back to reality, no rest for the wicked ay!

So I somewhat reluctantly raise myself from the depths of the oh-so-comfy armchair and make my way to my living quarters aka the kitchen. I serve up the usual, perhaps slightly unorthodox to the mainstream, after school snacks such as breakfast cereal and whatever bits off nuts and rice cake I can scrabble together from the depths of the food cupboard.

Then, whilst keeping the pelicans at bay by throwing snacks in their direction, hoping they don’t get close enough to peck my hand, I crack on with dinner! I like to get them fed pretty early, it tends to subdue the beasts.

Today I cooked up one of my favourites – 15 minute beef kofta curry. I do love a bit of Jamie O. Especially his 15 minute meals. It really is no fancy frills, get it on the serving plate, everyone help yourself, delicious, healthy food. Once you can find a few favourite recipes you’ll be surprised at how quickly they can become an established part of your cooking repertoire.

So here is our Tuesday night recipe…enjoy!!

INGREDIENTS:

  • FOR THE CURRY
  • 1 x 250g pack of ready-to-eat Puy lentils
  • 1 heaped teaspoon of garam masala
  • 400g quality lean beef mince
  • olive oil
  • 3 ripe tomatoes
  • 1 thumb-sized piece of ginger
  • 2 spring onions
  • 1 fresh red chilli (sometimes I put half a chilli so as to avoid those whingey, “It’s too spicy” comments)
  • 1 bunch of fresh coriander
  • 1 teaspoon of turmeric (which has so many health benefits)
  • 1 teaspoon of runny honey
  • 2 heaped teaspoons Patak’s rogan josh curry paste
  • 1/2 x 400g tin of light coconut milk
  • 4 tablespoons fat-free natural yoghurt, to serve
  • 1 lemon
  • FOR THE RICE
  • 1 mug (300g) 10-minute wholegrain or basmati rice
  • 5 cardamom pods
  • 200g green or yellow beans
  • 200g frozen peas
  • 2 uncooked poppadoms

BITS YOU’LL NEED:

  • Get your ingredients out, get the kettle boiling.
  • You’ll need a large frying pan on a high heat
  • A medium lidded casserole pan on a high heat
  • Liquidizer

GO!!:

  • Put the lentils into a bowl with salt, pepper, the garam masala and mince beef – mix and scrunch together with clean hands
  • Divide the mixture in half – then with wet hands quickly squeeze and mould each half into 6 fat fingers
  • Put them into the frying pan with 1 tablespoon of oil, turning when golden
  • Put 1 mug of rice, 2 mugs of boiling water and the cardamom pods into the casserole pan, halve and add the beans and put the lid on
  • Squash the tomatoes into the liquidizer, add the peeled ginger, trimmed spring onions, half the chilli, the coriander stalks, turmeric, honey, curry paste and coconut milk – blitz until combined
  • Pour into the kofta pan, bring to the boil, then simmer and season to taste
  • Take the lid off the rice, add the green peas, mix it all up and give it just a few more minutes
  • Crack up the uncooked poppadoms and pop them in the microwave (800w) for a minute or 2 to puff up
  • Finely slice the remaining chilli and the coriander leaves and scatter tem over the curry, dollop with yoghurt, then serve with lemon wedges, poppadoms and the rice, beans and green peas.

I have to admit I have quite a penchant for all things curryish. I’ll often, at the weekends, invest much more time in slowly stewing chicken curries, curried beef dishes or lamby-curry-type delights (recipes which I’ll share in the not too distant future). But this is a real mid-week gem. Sometimes, I might cheat at life even more and just use one of the many delicious microwaveable rice’s available from the supermarket. May I politely add any leftovers are MINE MINE MINE for the next day, and sit deliciously in a wrap!!

P.s coriander beautifully makes so many different curry dishes come to life, So if you like it, don’t skip it!!!

Have a happy Tuesday, I’m off to hibernate with Orange is the New Black on auto play 😉

Love Coco x

Leave a Reply

